Dr. John MacArthur: The Single-Minded Christian

On Grace To You, Dr. John MacArthur provides us with this article on what it means to be a single-minded Christian, loving God rather than money. Here is an excerpt:

It is right to provide for your family, make reasonable plans for the future, make wise investments, and have money to carry on a business, give to the poor, and support the Lord’s work. It is being dishonest, greedy, covetous, stingy, and miserly about what God gives you that is wrong. To honestly earn, save, and give is wise and good; to hoard and spend only on yourself is not only unwise, but sinful as well.

The key to Jesus’ warning here is “yourselves.” When you accumulate possessions simply for your own sake–whether to hoard or to spend selfishly and extravagantly–those possessions have become idols. But when you wisely, lovingly, willingly, and generously use things for kingdom purposes, you can turn them into a means of accumulating heavenly possessions.

Before I was married, a love for money was an area of my life that I really struggled with. Being single, without any attachments, I had a large amount of disposable income. If I wanted something, I had to have it right then. What’s more, I made enough money where I could probably afford it. One Dollar Bill

When my wife and I exchanged our vows, that all changed. Now, the money I used to spend on myself blesses my family. I am thankful to God that my money is no longer used for selfish gain, but for the betterment of others. God is good!

Leave a Reply

