Pro-Lifers Duped by Obama

Jill Stanek has written an interesting column regarding how Obama is wooing undiscerning pro-life voters into his ranks. Here’s a snippet:

But Barack Obama and his surrogates have been making the pitch that despite his unflinching support for abortion on demand – which includes overturning every local, state and federal law against abortion as well as providing government funding for abortion both in the U.S. and internationally – his plan to throw more taxpayer money at failed comprehensive sex ed and contraceptive programs will result in fewer abortions.

And apparently, some very stupid pro-lifers and pro-lifers in name only are falling for it. Yet in no other realm would such an argument hold water.

How is it that people fall for this silver-tongued used-car-salesman?

6 Responses

  1. I am a Barack Obama supporter, and I am also “Pro Choice,” so we are clearly going to have a different paradigm. By the way, I respect your belief in God and I do not want you to think, in any way, that I am criticizing your religious views or suggesting mine are somehow superior. Having said that, I am curious about a few things. First, other than abortion, are there other faith-based objections to Barack that do not apply to McCain? Second, purely in terms of domestic economic policy, and trying to put aside social policy (abortion, education, civil rights), which candidate do you feel better represents the interests of Christians? This second question might not be fair because all of these issues are essentially intermingled and it is difficult to isolate one. The reason I am interested is that I have often heard Christians say that if the Democrats and Republicans were the same on social issues, that the “religious right” would all vote democratic. I had a friend in college who said he thought Al Gore better represented his views than did George Bush, but Gore supported “baby murder”, so he would never get his vote. I never really understood how people could vote on a single issue before he said this and it made sense to me. If i believed someone to be a murderer then they wouldn’t get my vote either. I am interested in any opinions on these matters.
    Again, please do not take this as a criticism. I have no motive but the search for information.

  2. Averagetodd,

    My theology completely informs my world view, so in a sense, all of my objections to either candidate are faith-based. With that in mind, I can list many examples in which Obama garners my disagreement where McCain does not – marriage, taxes, foreign policy, health care – you name it. This is not intended to be a cop-out for an answer to your question, but my faith does determine my stance on almost every issue.

    As the candidates stand, John McCain better represents the interests of Christians in domestic economic policy. I am sure I would not agree with him on every facet of his policy, but certainly he would be more in line with what I believe to be Christian economic principles than Barack Obama.

    That being said, however, the subject of economic policy is secondary to many Christians, including myself. Until the daily death of 4000 babies is stopped, I could really care less about the other issues. If Barack Obama spoke out tomorrow promising he would do everything in his power to repeal Roe v. Wade and pass laws giving unborn children a right to life, I would vote for him. He may be wrong about gun ownership, taxes, marriage, health insurance, and a slew of other issues, but that wouldn’t matter as long as the barbaric practice of abortion for convenience was halted.

    Let me just explain one further thing, since I’ve been thinking about it. As a Christian, I am in nobody’s pocket when it comes to this election. No one candidate or party is guaranteed my vote. I will vote according to my conscience and leave the rest up to God.

  3. Rich, thank you so much for your response. I appreciate you taking the time to answer what was probably an unfair question to begin with. Your perspective has given me something valuable to think about.

    I wish you the best.

  4. I don’t think the question was unfair at all. I’m just glad I could help offer you one Christian’s perspective on this whole matter.

  5. I am not sure that it’s wholly true to claim that better contraception and sex education policies COULD (I’m not saying Obama’s plan necessarily will, but in theory it COULD) lead to better life choices, in turn leading to fewer abortions. Could you please explain the logic behind the claim that better educating young people and encouraging them to engage in safe sexual practices will have no impact on the number of unplanned pregnancies?

  6. Graciad,

    I’m not sure if it will reduce the number of unplanned pregnancies. I doubt it will, though. The reason why is that the ultimate problem is not education, it is bad choices. No amount of education or encouragement is going to change people’s behavior. Most people who get pregnant unexpectedly know all about contraception; they just choose not to use it.

    The issue is not whether or not there are less abortions than there are now. I’d like less of course, but what really matters is the fact that there are abortions in the first place. What matters is that abortion is used a birth control method for those too lazy to use a condom. What matters is that 4000 babies are killed each day, almost entirely for the convenience of their mothers.

    It needs to be stopped, not just reduced.

Leave a Reply

