Proving Jesus is Imaginary Lacks Imagination

Atheism, in it’s never-ending quest to destroy all things Christian, never ceases to amaze me. The fact is, their arguments really are not all that good. Most of them aren’t even clever. Take for example the video I’ve posted below.

This clip stands or falls based on the premise that “God will do anything we ask”. The idea is gleaned from Matthew 18:19-20. If this premise can be proven false, the video will cease to have any merit.

Here are the disputed verses placed into their proper context:

If your brother sins, go and show him his fault in private; if he listens to you, you have won your brother. But if he does not listen to you, take one or two more with you, so that BY THE MOUTH OF TWO OR THREE WITNESSES EVERY FACT MAY BE CONFIRMED.  If he refuses to listen to them, tell it to the church; and if he refuses to listen even to the church, let him be to you as a Gentile and a tax collector. Truly I say to you, whatever you bind on earth shall have been bound in heaven; and whatever you loose on earth shall have been loosed in heaven. Again I say to you, that if two of you agree on earth about anything that they may ask, it shall be done for them by My Father who is in heaven. For where two or three have gathered together in My name, I am there in their midst. (NASB)

Those attacking Scripture often employ the tactic of cherry picking certain verses to their liking and ignoring the rest. Such is the case here. In context, we can see that the promise of Jesus here only applies to the situations in which church discipline is being administered. It does not mean that Jesus will cater and bow to every desire. In no way does this text suggest that God does anything we want Him to.

Elsewhere, Scripture points out that God is completely sovereign in all matters. Here are just a few verses to underscore my point:

Psalm 115:3 – But our God is in the heavens; He does whatever He pleases.
Isaiah 46:10 – Declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times things which have not been done, saying, ‘My purpose will be established, and I will accomplish all My good pleasure’;
Psalm 135:6 – Whatever the LORD pleases, He does, in heaven and in earth, in the seas and in all deeps.

God is not subject to our petty desires. He will do what He wants, regardless of what His subjects have to say about it. He may choose to appear to anyone at any time, or He may not to. It is completely up to Him. Where does this idea that God is a slave to the human will originate? Certainly not in reality.

I would very much like to challenge any atheist to produce evidence that God will do anything we ask of Him, when we ask of Him.

10 Responses

  1. Jesus is not an imaginary figure. It has proven that he existed. The question is, was he the son of god. Now Im sure that you have it all figured out and you know for sure that he is the “true” messenger out of the many that are written about throughout different religions, but I must beg to differ. I dont know just how literal you take the bible, but your lodgic is based on your opinion that Christianity is the “truth” and the bible holds weight. I’m not just picking on Christianity, other religions are just as closed minded and “sure” of themselves and would never think that they could be wrong.
    Religion in a whole Is mans way of defining certain aspects of existance that are beyond human comprehension. That is why there are so many religions worldwide because different cultures look at the world from a different point of view. Your religion is just one of many, and nothing more.
    Jesus was a real man, but the GOD that is described in the first and second testimate is IMAGINARY!!!!

    I dont need to cherry pick text, it was ALL written by mortals

  2. Dastarvinartist, you seem awfully “sure” that “religion in a whole is mans way of defining certain aspects of existance that are beyond human comprehension.” Pretty close minded, don’t ya think? 😉

  3. “He will do what He wants, regardless of what His subjects have to say about it. He may choose to appear to anyone at any time, or He may not to. It is completely up to Him.”

    Then he has no reason to expect the entire world to believe in him.

    My only conclusion from observing the world is either that there is a god and he doesn’t care if people believe in him or actively tries to keep people from believing in him, or there is no god.

    “Jesus is not an imaginary figure. It has proven that he existed.”

    Has it really? Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s pretty likely that there was an apocalyptical preacher named Yeshua walking around the desert back then. But do we have any really good evidence of the specific person? Not really.

  4. The fact that I dont believe in any 1 religion makes me more open minded than any narrow minded worshipper. I am open to many theories involving the unexplained while religious nuts already have it figured out. They know who god is, they know when life began, and they seem to know where Im going when I die. So no poppie, Im not close minded

  5. Dastarvinartist,

    Claiming to know something does not make a person close-minded. I know, for instance, that two added to two makes four. Does the fact that I don’t even consider that two plus five equals four make me close-minded? Using your logic, yes.

    Say we’re wrong, foolish, or crazy. Just don’t say we’re close-minded because we claim to know the truth.

  6. Rich,

    If you admitt that you could be wrong and accept the possibilities that other theories of existance could be possible, then I will rebuke my statement of you being close minded. I refered to religious people as nuts in my last post, Im sorry, I dont want to disrespect you or others with your point of view.I just get frusterated because we as a species look at every other aspect of our existance through a practical lense, and yet we are too crippled to do so on the subjects of creation and spirituality. Its a shame

  7. Rich,

    If you admitt that you could be wrong and accept the possibilities that other theories of existance could be possible, then I will rebuke my statement of you being close minded. I refered to religious people as nuts in my last post, Im sorry, I dont want to disrespect you or others with your point of view.I just get frusterated because we as a species look at every other aspect of our existance through a practical lense, and yet we are too crippled to do so on the subjects of creation and spirituality. Its a shame

  8. Dastarvinartist,

    Could you be wrong about two and two equaling four? Are there other theories regarding this sum that may be plausible? If not, how are you not being close-minded yourself?

    Furthermore, what does it matter if I am close-minded or not? Does the state of my cognitive openness have any effect on whether or not my claims are true? I may be the most close-minded, foolish, and backward person to ever write his own blog, but the real issue is whether or not I am right.

  9. Okay, people, first of all, none of you KNOWS anything (except maybe that two plus two is four). You BELIEVE. You THINK you know. But what are you going to do when you die and you DON’T see god? What ever will you do when this life ends and you realize you wasted most of your earthly existence following rules that were made up by men that successfully pulled the wool over your sheepish eyes? What then? Don’t try to say you KNOW that won’t happen because you don’t. You BELIEVE it won’t happen. But what will you do when you find out that you were WRONG? That you were fooled for your entire worthless life? I know what I’ll do. I’ll laugh at you as hard as I ever have at anybody. HAAAAAAAAA HA HA HA HA HA HAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!! Moron.

  10. Glurk,

    If I were to die and cease to exist, how would you know so you could laugh at me?

Leave a Reply

