• Message From The Author

    While I do my best to be accurate and pray that the Lord offers me discernment in my writing, inevitably I will be wrong on some matters. Therefore I implore anyone reading this blog to compare what I say to Holy Scripture. Don't believe me; believe the Bible!
  • RSS Bible Gateway’s Verse of the Day

    • 1 Peter 1:18-19
      “For you know that it was not with perishable things such as silver or gold that you were redeemed from the empty way of life handed down to you from your ancestors, but with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect.”
  • Stay Up-To-Date

  • Meta

God’s Grace Demonstrated through Adoption

As Christians, we understand the power and meaningfulness of adoption. It is Christ’s redemptive work that allows us to be adopted into God’s family. Through the suffering of the Son, we are made sons and daughters ourselves.

This reality can sometimes be demonstrated in earthly life through the adoption of less fortunate children. In a post at Slice of Laodicea, Ingrid writes of this. I’ve included an excerpt below:

Each one of these children represents a special miracle. I recently got a call from the mother of one of them, and I was reminded of a wonderful day a while ago when I got to meet each of them at a picnic held at one of the family’s homes on a Sunday afternoon. It was a gathering of adopted children from Romania, Bulgaria and Russia who had found homes all at one church in our area. Since that time, many more families have adopted. Several families from the church now have children from Ethiopia, and I also have been able to meet some of those children.

Earlier this year I married a single mother to a three year old, so the topic of adoption resonates strongly with me. I am humbly thankful to God that He has allowed me to be a blessing to an amazing little girl, who otherwise would have likely grown up without a father. So to this post I say a hearty amen.

The way I’ve adopted Elliana into my family reminds me so frequently of the way I’ve been adopted into God’s family. By loving me and sacrificing of Himself when He didn’t have to, I have been supremely and infinitely blessed. No longer estranged from my Father, I can join with my brothers and sisters in praising the Lord who bought us.

Leave a Reply

