The Hope Blog: When Men Hurt Their Own

At The Hope Blog, Ingrid Schlueter writes:

Today I want to address something, however, that is a topic rarely, if ever, addressed by Christians. I don’t think I have ever heard a pastor preach on this subject in all the years I have spent in church. I’ve seen only a handful of books on the subject in all my years in radio. I want to talk about domestic abuse in supposedly Christian homes. This has been brought to the forefront of my mind recently as I have been involved in a case where this evil is going on. It has brought out many emotions, some very hard to handle because it took me back many years in my own mind. For a woman, it is a terrible way to live. In fact, it isn’t really living at all.

I am blessed enough to not come from an abusive family, but I am very close to someone who did. She has to live with the pain her father inflicted on her every day of her life, and some days are very difficult. These posts by Ingrid shine light on a subject scarcely talked about: violence and abuse in Christian homes.

One Response

  1. I read these blogs by Ingrid, and I think that anybody who has or is going through abuse can benefit from them, as well as anybody who knows somebody who has. I would actually put the emphasis on those who know somebody who has or is going through abuse, because it will give such insight into what is going on. The effects of abuse last a lifetime, and without the healing grace of God will destroy a person.

Leave a Reply

