Of Babies and CCNAs

The next several weeks for me are arguably to be the most impacting of my life, with two major events steadily moving towards the present.

The first would be possibly one of the hardest tests I will ever have to take – the Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) exam. Ninety minutes of heart-pumping and brain-stretching questions with the aim of being an industry certified computer networking engineer. I’ve been studying for weeks just to learn the material. Everything from the OSI Seven Layer Model to Wide Area Networks to IPv6 will be covered on this man-eater of a test. As an even added stress, my employer will only reimburse the two hundred fifty dollars I used to pay if I pass.

However intimidating this test may be, it can’t compare to what will be happening the first half of September. My wife is having a baby boy. I cannot wait for when I can hold my son in my arms. In spite of the rush of being a new parent, I at the same time can’t deny that this will also be a very stressful and difficult season. While I have a three year-old daughter and am not completely without parenting experience, newborns are not something I’m accustomed to. Bringing a newborn into the world is entirely different than raising a preschooler, one that will have implications not only for me but the rest of my family as well.

It’s in these times that verses like Romans 8:28 provide comfort for my anxious soul. I have God’s written promise that no matter what happens, it will be according to His will for the purposes of my good and His glory. What greater serenity can befall the man who realizes this?

4 Responses

  1. Having a newborn is much like riding a bike the first time, or even learning to walk. It’s something that will eventually come naturally to you and you WILL be able to do it in your sleep. The first three days will be a sleep deprived yet blissful time, where you will diaper your new son half blind from exhaustion yet succeed!
    Being a parent is no easy task, which is why so many children end up abused. neglected or emotionally traumatized. You need to remember two things though, do your best and pray.
    I have an almost three year old and a two month old now. Two children in diapers yet in completely different stages will make things VERY interesting for you as I found out.
    Just remember that the best thing you can give your kids is TIME. Read to them both every day or night and play with them. My kids might not always be spotless and perfectly groomed, or even full of completely nutritious foods, but they are loved and that’s all you can do sometimes.

  2. Thank you very much for the comment, Rachel. I will certainly take that advice in mind.

  3. I am sure you will do fine on your test. You are a very smart man, and I hope you know how proud I am of how hard you have been working for our family. We are so blessed to have you as a husband and father, and I can’t wait to see you take to having a newborn the way you have taken to having a preschooler. You have been amazing with her and all the other kids from day one, and that is how I know you will be an amazing Daddy to our son as well.

  4. Thank you for the kind words, “Me”. 🙂

Leave a Reply

